Academic Calendar

University of Michigan – Ann Arbor Campus Registrar’s Office: (734) 764-6280

For a downloadable version, click here.

Fall 2018

Labor Day (holiday)

Sept 3, Monday

Classes Begin

Sept 4, Tuesday

Fall Break

Oct 15-16, Monday-Tuesday

Thanksgiving Recess 5:00pm

Nov 21, Wednesday

Classes resume 8:00am

Nov 26, Monday

Classes end

Dec 11, Tuesday

Study Days

Dec 12, Wednesday & Dec 15-16, Saturday-Sunday

Examinations

Dec 13-14, Thursday-Friday & Dec 17-20, Monday-Thursday

Fall Term ends

Dec 20, Thursday

Commencement

Dec 16, Sunday

Winter 2019

Classes Begin

Jan 9, Wednesday

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University Symposia, No regular classes)

Jan 21, Monday

Winter Vacation begins at 12:00 noon

Mar 2, Saturday

Classes resume 8:00am

Mar 11, Monday

University Honors Convocation

Mar 24, Sunday

Classes end

Apr 23, Tuesday

Study Days

Apr 24, Wednesday & Apr 27-28, Saturday-Sunday

Examinations

Apr 25-26, Thursday-Friday & Apr 29-May 2, Monday-Thursday

Winter Term Ends

May 2, Thursday

Commencement Activities

May 2-5, Thursday-Sunday

Spring/Summer 2019

Classes begin

May 7, Tuesday

Memorial Day (holiday)

May 27, Monday

Classes end (Spring Half Term)

June 24, Monday

Study Days

June 25-26, Tuesday-Wednesday

Examinations

June 27-28, Thursday-Friday

Spring Half Term ends

June 28, Friday

Classes begin (Summer Half Term)

July 3, Wednesday

Independence Day (holiday observed)

July 4, Thursday

Classes end 5:00pm

Aug 15 Thursday

Study Day

Aug 16 – 18, Friday – Sunday

Examinations

Aug 19-20, Monday – Tuesday

Full & Summer Half Terms end

Aug 20, Tuesday

*Students enrolling in Business Administration, Dentistry, Law, Pharmacy, Social Work, and Medicine should check with their respective schools for academic calendar information including registration dates. This calendar is subject to change.

**Jewish holy days begin and end at sundown on the first and last days listed. The University’s policy concerning observance of religious holidays can be found at http://www.umich.edu/~provost/dates/hdaymemo.html

***Office of the Provost, Religious Holidays during the 2018-2019 Academic Year can be found at http://www.provost.umich.edu/calendar/religious_holidays18-19.html

Dearborn Campus – for registration and academic calendar information, visit: http://www.umd.umich.edu/registration

Flint Campus – for registration and academic calendar information, visit: http://www.umflint.edu/registrar