Academic Calendar 2017-2018

University of Michigan – Ann Arbor Campus Registrar’s Office: (734) 764-6280

Fall 2017

Labor Day (holiday) Sept 4, Monday
Classes Begin Sept 5, Tuesday
Fall Break Oct 16-17, Monday-Tuesday
Thanksgiving Recess 5:00pm Nov 22, Wednesday
Classes resume 8:00am Nov 27, Monday
Classes end Dec 12, Tuesday
Study Days Dec 13, Wednesday & Dec 16-17, Saturday-Sunday
Examinations Dec 14-15, Thursday-Friday & Dec 18-21, Monday-Thursday
Fall Term ends Dec 21, Thursday
Commencement Dec 17, Sunday

Winter 2018

Classes Begin Jan 3, Wednesday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University Symposia, No regular classes) Jan 15, Monday
Winter Vacation begins at 12:00 noon Feb 24, Saturday
Classes resume 8:00am Mar 5, Monday
University Honors Convocation Mar 18, Sunday
Classes end Apr 17, Tuesday
Study Days Apr 18, Wednesday & Apr 21-22, Saturday-Sunday
Examinations Apr 19-20, Thursday-Friday & Apr 23-26, Monday-Thursday
Winter Term Ends April 26, Thurs
Commencement Activities Apr 26-29, Thursday-Sunday

Spring/Summer 2018

Classes begin May 1, Tuesday
Memorial Day (holiday) May 28, Monday
Classes end (Spring Half Term) June 18, Monday
Study Days June 19-20, Tuesday-Wednesday
Examinations June 21-22, Thursday-Friday
Spring Half Term ends June 22, Friday
Classes begin (Summer Half Term) June 27, Wednesday
Independence Day (holiday observed) July 4, Wednesday
Classes end 5:00pm Aug 14, Tuesday
Study Day Aug 15, Wednesday
Examinations Aug 16-17, Thursday-Friday
Full & Summer Half Terms end Aug 17, Friday

*Students enrolling in Business Administration, Dentistry, Law, Pharmacy, Social Work, and Medicine should check with their respective schools for academic calendar information including registration dates. This calendar is subject to change.

**Jewish holy days begin and end at sundown on the first and last days listed. The University’s policy concerning observance of religious holidays can be found at http://www.umich.edu/~provost/dates/hdaymemo.html

***Office of the Provost, Religious Holidays during the 2017-2018 Academic Year can be found athttp://www.provost.umich.edu/calendar/religious_holidays17-18.html

Dearborn Campus – for registration and academic calendar information, visit: http://www.umd.umich.edu/registration

Flint Campus – for registration and academic calendar information, visit: http://www.umflint.edu/registrar